25 Blogs in 25 days…the TORTURED tour!”

AmandaXSMfor8-21

 

August 22, 2009

Day eighteen of the blog tour

 

TORTURED, erotic medieval, Harlequin Spice, Aug.’09-Amanda McIntyre

See the book trailer at:  http://www.amandamcintyre.net/tortured.html#trailer

 

9780373605330_TS_smp

In a time of chaos, darkness, and violence, it is better to live only in the moment, lest your memories eat you alive. 

A young woman blessed with “sight seeks vengeance against a tyrannical lord responsible for her mother’s murder.  Forced to become an executioner’s apprentice, she encounters a Roman prisoner who offers her a way to escape her prison and find a future.  Torn between desire, duty, and the chance for revenge, her choice to live or die leaves her TORTURED.  (Available now, Harlequin Spice, Aug. ’09)

I want to thank my friend Genella for having me here today at her lovely internet abode!  It’s always kind of fun to poke around and see what’s going on!  If you haven’t read about all of Genella’s exciting news yet, be sure to check out her various books above and see what’s happening!  Congrats my friend, you are on a roll!

 

Well, here I am already the 18th day into my blog and it’s been a lot of fun!  I’ve shared some of my “summer vacation” memories and had some fantastic discussions with folks along the way.  I kind of feel like I’m doing an Internet documentary, of sorts!  I think of how long it used to take to get a communication to another soul—lets see;

 

*776 BC, they used the first homing pigeons to send messages about the winners of the Olympics

*200BC first humans used as foot messengers/horseback

*100 BC the first bound books were made

*1450 newspapers show up in Europe

1835 Samuel Morse invents the Morse code

1861 the US begins the pony express for mail

1914 the first cross continental phone call was made (can you bring home some bread?)

1949 Network television begins

1966 Xerox invents the first telecopier

1976 Apple invents the first home computer (it would be 20 years later before this house had one!)

1994 The us govt. release control of internet, giving us “WWW” effectively creating the ability to have communication at lightspeed

 

*more stats found at http://inventors.about.com/library/inventors/bl_history_of_communication.htm

 

It doesn’t seem all that long ago, does it?  And who knows where technology will be twenty years from now!

 

And where is all this leading, you might ask?  Well, given that my heroine lived in an age traditionally known as the “dark ages,” she had to rely pretty much on what was in front of her at the time.  I have to wonder what it might have been like had she had an ITOUCH or a Blackberry?  I suspect that she and Dryston would not have had near the adventure they did!  Perhaps they wouldn’t have met except on Match dot com?  It is food for thought and a hilarious medieval comedy to be sure to think about though!  So I would like to pose the question to each of you…if you could live without (permanently) one electronic or technological device in your home or car—what would it be?

 

Oh, the answers I can only imagine are rolling around in heads, right now!;)  Leave your comments here for a chance to win a copy of TORTURED!

 

Next blog stop: McIntyre’s House of Muse!  Yep! I’m tossing some shrimp on the barby, turning on my little Chinese lanterns on the deck roof and getting out the patio chimney for s’amores later on! Come on by, we’re going to get a sneak peek at another NEVER BEFORE PUBLICIZED excerpt of TORTURED, a brief story featuring Thomas Rodin, never before published until now, some more Gods of Football pics and a few fun giveaways through the weekend! Including a few copies of Diary of Cozette, one of Tortured, and who knows what other mischief I can get into!

 

May the wind be at your back~

Amanda

www.amandamcintyre.net

 

~ by genelladegrey on August 21, 2009.

10 Responses to “25 Blogs in 25 days…the TORTURED tour!””

  1. LOL! Hmmm… I think once an electronic device worms its way into my life, I’m not sure I have the fortitude to wrench it back out! So… I’m definitely keeping the digital camera, TiVo, GPS, and cell phone. But, I don’t yet have texting or Twittering or an e-reader, so I suppose I can continue to live in ignorance (blissful or otherwise) 😀

    And Amanda, you’re SO right about those noisy GPS “narrators”–they certainly are persistent and insistent!! I’ve been known to go ahead and choose the “suspend guidance” button to get them to put a sock in it!

  2. I don’t have a Kindle or Sony e reader. I guess I can live without an ebook reader since I haven’t bought one yet.

  3. I now can’t live without my iphone 3G!

  4. I could live without the digital thermostat. It was easy to program, but it doesn’t work so well. Maybe we got a crappy one.

    • Oh Jane…sorry I havent got a clue on this one…

      we did just get a new digital one when we put in a new furnace a few years back.

      hum, Ive been thinking about this…and it is not as easy of a question as I thought!

      Maybe my regualr phone since I have a cell phone? ok, kind of cheating there…

      OH! I never ever use my blender!! ta da!!
      I feel so empowered!!

      A.M.

  5. I would be able to live without a digital clock. The analog clock is my preference. However, I COULD NOT live without my iPhone!!! OR my computer!! Writing on legal pads is just not an option and I HAVE to have access to the Internet!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial 😉

    P.S. For Amanda, I sing….
    ahh…ahh…ahhhhhh….AHH…AHH…AHHHHHHH! 😉

    • My sons of have every gadget known to man I think or so it seems. I often find myself staring at them as they prepare for a road trip, or when they have to ride the bus to an event/competition. They carry a bag for all their techno stuff…

      What did we do before all of that? LOL

      thanks for stopping in Arial!

      A.M.

  6. If I could live without one electronic or technological device in my home or car, I guess I would have to say a GPS system.

    Of course, I’ve never used one yet . . . LOL

    Thanks for being here, Amanda!
    🙂
    G.

    • Oh good lord…funny story.
      While on vacay this year with my family, both my husband and my daughter felt the need to EACH set their GPS’s for our destinations…

      one male , one female…
      but they set them at different levels-one the shortest distance,. the other some other way–
      um, like one of my sons said, “everytime we got lost we wound up in China town” no matter whay city we were in LOL

      and if you dont follow the path the GPS has chosen, those people get REALLY irate! You can hear it in their tone!! “Rerouting.” in this deadpan, I have to tolerate your ignornace-voice LOL

      it actually was quite entertaining to hear the two competeing for directions…

      Geez, Im feeling a story coming on LOL

      A.M.

Leave a Reply

 
