Guest Author Jude Mason –

Today I have a special guest on my blog, a fellow author with Total E-Bound, the amazing Jude Mason.

When I looked at her back list and commented that she has a gazillion books out, she denied it prettily.

*whispering* But she really does! 😉

We’ll talk about her latest release a little later, so stay tuned.

 

I’ve invited Jude here not just because she’s a fabulous, wholly prolific author, but I came across her perspective on “The Elusive Reader.” The truth of her post struck a cord in me and I immediately set out to ask her permission to re-post it on my blog.

 

So my dear friends      please read on——-

 

     This topic came up on one of the many yahoo lists I belong to and it really touched me. How often has a reader told me they lurk because they don’t feel important enough to post a message or comment on something an author has shared?

 

     Oh my god!

 

     I could cry when I hear it, or even think it. In some distant tiny part of myself, I can identify with that feeling of uncertainty. I mean if Stephan King walked in the door I’d possibly faint. But, I can almost guarantee he’d say the same thing I would.

 

     Horse pucky!

 

     Without you, the readers, we’re just dumbass writers making up lies and writing them down. Yes, we create stories, and yes we do try to get them to sound beautiful or tragic or sexy, but we do it for you. I can’t say that without you, I’d stop telling my little lies, but I can tell you, without you, it just seems so damn lonely and pointless.

 

     Look, everyone has a gift. I believe everyone also has some form of deformity or handicap too, but that’s a whole nuther post. My gift is imagination. What’s yours? My husband has an amazing eye for wildlife photography. The pictures he shows me often take my breath. Like me, his gift isn’t something he worked for or deserves, it’s just there.

 

     Now, if you, my reader, like a certain thing I’ve written, how will I know unless you tell me? If you despise something, the same is true. I continue to write, and do a lot of praying in the process that someone will like what I come up with.

 

 

     The odd time, and I can count those times on my fingers, a reader will send me an email. It’s like a gift has been delivered. I’m almost afraid to respond to them for fear of scaring them off. I have heard that readers are afraid of us. It seems crazy that someone would be afraid, or feel less important than me. I mean, if you could see me now, scruffy sweats and slippers, my hair sticking out all over and me     chewing on my lip, you’d laugh at the very idea that this woman could be ‘all that’.

 

     I treasure those emails, few though they are. They are all I have to go on when it comes to what readers want. I’ve been told I write too short…I’m working on that all the time. Calls for submission often call for a certain length, so those times I don’t have a lot of say in the word count. But, when I get going on my own, I try very hard to take those words into account. Too short, readers like paranormal and they also seem to like series’. What other things, alpha males. I got that bit of info from my newsletter contest last month. Even when I’m writing m/m, one of the m’s should be more gung ho and bossy than the other. Yup, I can do that.

 

     The yahoo groups I belong to are a perfect example of authors desperate for input. Take one of the publisher organized chats. Add a dozen authors eager to share their blurbs and excerpts for new releases and you’ve got the makings of some great fun. Some of those yahoo groups have thousands of members, others have hundreds. Yet, chances are, when there’s an organized chat, there will be possibly a dozen comments by non-authors. I’ve seen authors literally pounce on the poor person. A feeding frenzy of desire to please, and that scares the reader off. I know it does. The others do too. But, it’s such a hunger to know what this brave brazen soul likes that we just can’t help ourselves.

 

 

     So, readers/fans please, you are the other half of our coin. We know you’re out there, someone’s buying those books, and we can hear you breathing… heavily! Do us a favor, honestly this would be sooo fantastic, when you read something you really like, gather your courage and send the author a short note. Tell her, or him, what you liked so much. The next time you’re in one of those yahoo chats, and your favorite author makes an appearance, let her know. Tell her the name of your favorite book of hers. Just let her know you’re there. And, if you hate something, let us know that too, or we’re liable to do it again and again, and that would just suck.

 

     Thanks so much for listening. I’d love to get comments on this, from both other authors and yes, you readers.

 

     Hugs

     Jude

 

 

True, true, true! I couldn’t have said it better – Thank you so much Jude!

 

 

Jude’s next work of art, an anthology entitled “Gaymes” is scheduled to come out on Jan.18th from Total E-Bound.

To learn more about Gaymes click on the cover above.

Jude Mason writes all genres of erotic romance fiction including Ghosts & Sci Fi, Paranormal – Vampires & Shifters, Gay & Lesbian, Erotic horror, BDSM: Femdom & male Dom and Erotica.

See? A gazillion books.

Seriously, that just about covers all of adult romance – unless she’s holding out on us. 😉

 

Thank you again, Jude – May you have abundant sales!

 

 A bit more about Jude:

 *Jude Mason – Readers needed: Come, explore with me…if you dare!*
Website:
http://www.my-haven2001.com
Newsletter: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Jude_Masons_Newsletter/
To sign up for my mailing list, email me: jude.mason @ yahoo.ca (no spaces)

 

In addition to TEB Jude also has books with:
Phaze –
http://www.phaze.com/
Noble Romance Publishing – http://www.nobleromance.com/
Cleis Press –
http://www.cleispress.com/index.php
Running Press – http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/runningpress/home.jsp
Logical Lust – http://www.logical-lust.com/
All Romance e-books – http://www.allromanceebooks.com/
Loveyoudivine – http://www.loveyoudivine.com/
And audio stories at:
A Woman’s Goodnight –
http://www.awomansgoodnight.com/

   

 

~ by genelladegrey on January 15, 2010.

7 Responses to “Guest Author Jude Mason –”

  1. Hi Bronwyn,

    Glad you dropped by. Yes, often it really does feel like that. I sit in my little room typing my stories, with no one around. We really are a bunch of hermits aren’t we?

    Hugs

    • Thank you so much, Jude!
      Perfect example of what you are talking about: We got almost fifty hits on this page in the first two days.
      Interesting.
      Hugs –
      G.
      PS – I’d also like to thank those of you who commented! 🙂

  2. Hi Katie,

    You go girl. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    Hugs

  3. I must admit that I have been guilty of not sending a quick email about a great book. I used to all of the time after reading a blog a few years ago. An author had stated that they rarely get fan mail from readers. I made point after that to send a quick note. I will try to make it a habit again. Thank you for the reminder Jude and Genella! : )

  4. Excellent post, you two. I love getting notes from readers – it feels far less like working in a vacuum. 😉

  5. How inspiring!!! I’m going to visit the web sites of the authors of some books I’ve just finished reading and tell them how much I enjoyed them!! Thanks for sharing this, Genella!!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial 😉
    http://www.ArialBurnz.com

    P.S. Hey! I’m teaching online starting in February! Visit my site to see my calendar and sign up for some of our free classes to give us a try! Love ya!!! http://www.EnchantedTutoring.com

  6. This was a great post, Jude and Congratulations on all your success! Genella is a definte plus to the Total E-Bound family as well!!

    The technilogical age certainly has brought a new element of contact between author and reader-its new ground and in a way very exciting, a little scary, yes, but considering by the speed of an email we can are able to connect with readers, editors, publishers via loops, blogs, etc…

    Where these things did not exist before for authors,popularity hinged heavily on sales–with the markets of publishing opening so wide-the talent pool has expanded, deepened–not only are their print book fans, but now a new generation of small press, e-book and even self-published fans out there.

    I love to hear from readers, I cherish each and every one. Like its need said, they do more to inspire my work than they will ever know.

    Its been said that it takes a village to raise a child, in a sense the same holds true for this writing journey–the likes, dislikes, suggestions, desires–is vital to where I take my imagination.

    We all have something to contribute, wwhatever that gift is-just finding the balance and the graciousness to use it well is the main part of the journey.

    Amanda

Leave a Reply

 
